PLP Class of 2000


John Campbell, Lynchburg, businessman; retired operations officer for the Central Intelligence Agency; managed the CIA’s station in The Hague, Netherlands; ran for the state Senate in 1999.

Stephen Clinton, Botetourt County, senior vice president of an engineering firm; member of the Board of Supervisors of Botetourt County; vice chairman of the Republican Committee of Botetourt County.

Lonnie Craig, Chesapeake, former chief of police for the State Capitol Police Force; former chief of police for the Virginia Port Authority; vice chairman, Chesapeake General Hospital’s board of directors.
Elected to the Chesapeake City Council in 2010. Running for re-election in the May 6, 2014 election.

Bambi Davidson, Goochland County, senior vice president for government and public affairs, Greater Richmond Chamber of Commerce; board member, Capital Region Taxicab Advisory Board and Richmond Ridefinders Advisory Board. 

Adam Ebbin, Alexandria, director of marketing and media relations for the Association of Alternative Newsweeklies; active in gay and lesbian community’s involvement in Democratic Party; served as a Virginia delegate to Democratic National Convention.
Adam is a member of the Senate of Virginia, representing the 30th district in Northern Virginia since January 2012. He previously served eight years in the Virginia House of Delegates.

 Mollie Eller, Roanoke County, sales representative for a book company; vice president of Salem Republican Women’s Club; ran for clerk of Roanoke County circuit court in 1999.

Nick Evans, Barboursville, senior geologist for the Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy; participant in the Thomas Jefferson Sustainability Council project; elected in 1999 as a director of a four-county Soil and Water Conservation District.

Merni Fitzgerald, Falls Church, member of Falls Church City Council; public information officer for the Fairfax County Park Authority; chairman of the Northern Virginia Planning District Commission.

Patrick Gottschalk, Richmond, lawyer; former chairman of the International Practice Section of the Virginia State Bar; former chairman of the Henrico Business Council.

Christopher Graham, Richmond, lawyer; member of the candidate committee of the Coalition for a Greater Richmond; active in Boy Scouts; former Judge Advocate of the United States Army.

Charles Hale, Albemarle County, chief deputy director of the Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy; former vice chairman of the Washington County Republican Party; former member of Washington County Industrial Development Authority.

Buzz Hawley, Annandale, counsel for Washington, D.C.-based government relations firm; former senior legislative aide, U.S. Congressman Frank Wolf; president of the Bailey's Crossroads Rotary Club; board member, College of William and Mary Society of the Alumni - metro Washington, D.C. chapter.

Paige Holloway, Richmond, policy analyst for Gov. James Gilmore; former counsel, Commerce Committee, U.S. House of Representatives.

Pamela Hurley, Norfolk, vice president of investments for a securities company; member of advisory board for a training school.

Robert Hurt, Pittsylvania County, lawyer; former chief assistant Commonwealth’s attorney for Pittsylvania County; active in downtown Chatham restoration.
Robert served in the Virginia House of Delegates from 2001 until 2007 when he was elected to the Virginia Senate. In 2010 Robert was elected to represent the Fifth District in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Louis Kobus, Alexandria, president and CEO of a lawn care business; retired U.S. Marine Corps officer; Legislative Committee chairman of the Virginia Agribusiness Council and the Virginia Turfgrass Council.

Edith Light, Lynchburg, State Central Representative for the Republican Party from the 6thCongressional District; member of church vestry, and alternate for Episcopal Church Diocesan Council in Southwest Virginia.

Christine Lowrie, Chesterfield County, executive director, Virginia Home Energy Rating Organization, a non-profit organization that helps make homes more energy efficient; president of Make Women Count.

Jane Maddux, Albemarle County, businesswoman; board member of the Martha Jefferson Hospital Women’s Committee; ran for state Senate in 1999.
Jane passed away on June 7, 2014. She was 64.

Shannon Meade, Abingdon, paralegal for an Abingdon firm; secretary of the Washington County Republican Party; volunteer with Washington County Department of Social Services.

Gordon Meriwether, Fairfax Station, vice president and general manager of DynSolutions, a subsidiary of DynCorp; member of the board, Leadership Fairfax; vice chair, Fairfax Professional-Technical Studies Advisory Committee.

Jason Miyares, Richmond, legislative assistant to state Sen. Steve Martin; 7th Congressional District volunteer coordinator for the Bush-for-President campaign.

Craig O'Der, Henry County, businessman and substitute school teacher; councilman in the town of Ridgeway; vice president of Collinsville Jaycees.
Craig works for the Office of the Inspector General as a Senior Special Agent and Forensic Pyschophysiologist in the Special Investigations Unit. In May of 2014, he was elected to serve as Mayor of the Town of Ridgeway.

Paul Peck, Norfolk, senior vice president and director of investor relations for a real estate firm; state chair of the American-Israel Public Affairs Committee; member of the board, Downtown Norfolk Council.

Conway Porter, Fauquier County, retired office manager for the Virginia Employment Commission; president of local NAACP; ran for Fauquier County clerk of circuit court in 1999.

Barrett Richardson, Newport News, lawyer; board member of the Portsmouth Volunteers for the Homeless; former chairman of the Missions and Outreach Committee at his church; former assistant Commonwealth’s attorney.

Paul Rogers, Sussex County, owner and operator of a family farm; chairman of the board of agricultural financial cooperative that serves 42 counties and four cities in Virginia; chairman of the board of an independent school.

John Ryan, Norfolk, lawyer; assistant city attorney; board member of "For Art’s Sake," a support group for the Chrysler Museum in Norfolk.

Cheryl Talley, Harrisonburg, professor of psychology, James Madison University; founder of Harrisonburg Youth Achievers, leadership program for middle- and high-school African-American students; member, JMU Centennial Commission.

Doug Trout, Charlottesville, assistant director of development and public relations for the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities; founder of the James Madison University Political Science Society.

Robert Twigg, Leesburg, newspaper editor; trustee of Loudoun County Public Library; former Leesburg district representative on county Republican Committee; director of YMCA and Loudoun Vocational Education Foundation.
Bob Twigg passed away on November 16, 2009.

Elaine Washington, Chesapeake, pharmacist; member of the board, Tidewater Community College; member of the board of a program for low-income children.


Profiles are current with the program application.
If you are a graduate and would like to update your profile,
contact Rachel Casebolt at



Featured Alumni

  • Jennifer McClellan.jpg

    Jennifer McClellan

    Political Leaders Program

    Class of 2001

    Jennifer serves in the Virginia House of Delegates where she represents the 71st District. She is also a graduate of the Candidate Training Program Class of 2005 and a member of the Sorensen Institute's State Advisory Board.