Campaigns and Elections

Sorensen Alumni Win Office
Nov 7 2012 - 5:02pm

Congratulations to the Sorensen alumni who won on election day!

Jonathan Baliles, Richmond City Council
Kelly Carmichael Booz, Alexandria School Board
Dave Butler, Leesburg Town Council
John Taylor Chapman, Alexandria City Council
Glenn Davis, Virginia Beach City Council
Dan Edwards, Virginia Beach School Board
Kimberly Gray, Richmond City School Board
Robert Hurt, U.S. House of Representatives
Scott Rigell, U.S. House of Representatives
Dave Roberts, San Diego County Board of Supervisors
Amelia Ross-Hammond, Virginia Beach City Council
Paul Smedberg, Alexandria City Council
Leonard Tengco, Virginia Beach School Board
Justin Wilson, Alexandria City Council
Rosemary Wilson, Virginia Beach City Council

If you know of someone we missed, please let us know at with their name and office.


Booz to Run for Alexandria School Board
May 30 2012 - 2:36pm

Kelly Carmichael Booz (PLP 2011; CTP 2011) has announced her candidacy for the Alexandria School Board in District B. Full story at

Holihan Announces for Alexandria City Council
Jan 11 2012 - 3:41pm

Sean Holihan, a member of the Political Leaders Program Class of 2007, officially announced his candidacy for Alexandria City Council on Tuesday, Jan. 10. He joins two current council members and three challengers in the Democratic primary scheduled for June 12.

Get the full story at Alexandria Times.

Butler Announces for House of Delegates
Dec 2 2010 - 10:13am

David Butler (PLP 2010), has announced his run for a House of Delegates seat in 2011. A member of the Leesburg Town Council, Butler said it was the "the failure for Richmond to come up with any realistic transportation solution" that ultimately made him decide to throw his hat in the ring for the General Assembly. He plans on seeking the Democratic nomination.

As boundary lines are currently drawn, Butler will most likely challenge Republican Joe T. May (R-33), who has served as Leesburg's legislative representative for almost 17 years. However, with legislative redistricting approaching, this may change. Whoever his opponent is, Butler is gearing up to win over local voters. "I don't care who I'm running against," he said. "I want to serve Leesburg in the House of Delegates and I think I can do that better than anyone else."

Butler is planning a formal campaign kick-off for sometime in January. Good luck Dave! For more go here.

Reeves Seeks VA Senate Seat
Nov 11 2010 - 11:33am

Spotsylvania Republican Bryce Reeves (PLP 2009; CTP Winter 2010) is challenging Sen. Edd Houck for the 17th District Virginia Senate seat.  His campaign kickoff tour of the district begins this Sunday, November 13.

You can read more about Bryce and his campaign at his campaign website,, or in the Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star


Husch Announces for Fairfax County Board
Nov 11 2010 - 10:37am

Thursday 11 November, 2010

On this Veterans’ Day, Gerrie Smith, Dranesville Republican Committee Chair proudly and enthusiastically announces today that Dennis Husch will seek the Dranesville District seat on the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors in November 2011.

“Dennis is a 27 year resident of the Dranesville District and served 16 years on the Herndon Town Council including two years as Vice Mayor.  His extensive experience with municipal budgets, comprehensive land-use planning, public policy, constituent services and the governance process will provide the citizens of the District with excellent representation,” said Chairman Smith.

“I am humbled by the confidence the Dranesville Republican Committee has demonstrated by asking me to be their candidate and it is with that same humility that I face the voters once again to ask for their continued trust and support as they have done throughout my 16 years of service on the Herndon Town Council,” said Dennis.

Mr. Husch, a Vietnam veteran, has an extensive record of public service including on the Commonwealth Joint Commission on Science and Technology, the Metro Rail Phase II Tax District Commission, the State Corporation Commission – Underground Utility Damage Prevention Committee, the Fairfax County Economic Advisory Commission, and the Virginia Municipal League’s General Laws Committee and General Laws Steering Committee. Dennis has also been an active community volunteer and has served as President of the Herndon Optimist Club, as a Herndon Community Television board member, and as a Boy Scout trained leader.

“My campaign will focus on a civil discussion of issues and ideas to improve our shared quality of life in Fairfax County and my work as the next Dranesville Supervisor will be focused on constituent services, lowering taxes, limiting government intrusion and improving government accountability,” said Dennis.

“In the wake of the election results posted last week across this great nation, it is clear the voters have expressed a deep dissatisfaction with the status quo. It is the responsibility of candidates such as myself to heed the messages of the people and remember that it is they who put us in office and they can just as quickly can remove us from office. My sleeves are rolled up and I am ready to go to work for the citizens of Fairfax County, with your help and support,” said Dennis.

Dennis is a graduate of Strayer University with a degree in business, recipient of a National Security Agency Career Field Certification, an Advanced Program Management Certification and the Virginia Municipal League’s Virginia Mayors Certification in 2006 and 2007.  Dennis will graduate from the University of Virginia’s Sorensen Institute Political Leaders Program in December 2010.

Dennis, and his wife of 40 years Nancy, have lived in the Town of Herndon for 27 years. They have a son Jason and a granddaughter. Dennis is a charter member of American Legion Post 187.  He works for System Planning Corporation in Arlington, Virginia as a Senior Member of the Technical Staff.

For additional information see

Sorensen Alumni Win Big
Nov 3 2010 - 9:57am

Last night, for the first time, Sorensen alumni were elected to serve in the United States House of Representatives. The Sorensen Institute would like to congratulate both Scott Rigell (VA-02) and Robert Hurt (VA-05) on their successful campaigns. For more information, you can visit Congressman-elect Rigell's website and Congressman-elect Hurt's website.

In addition to this historic election, five other Sorensen Alumni won their local campaigns yesterday. The Sorensen Institute sends its congratulations to:

Linda Richardson, Greensville County Treasurer
James Byrd, Harrisonburg City Council
Angelia Williams, Norfolk City Council
James Wood, Virginia Beach City Council
Art Major, Winchester City Council

These candidates join more than one hundred of their fellow Sorensen Alumni who serve in elected office across the Commonwealth. They are a testament to the Sorensen idea that politics can be about the heated clash of ideas, but that our differences do not have to divide us.

Potter Interviewed by NBC29
Oct 29 2010 - 9:21am

Max Potter (HSLP 2010) was interviewed by NBC29 for his involvement with the Charlottesville High School young Liberals organization and their recent efforts to get Tom Periello re-elected. In addition, the article focuses on President Obama's visit to Charlottesville tonight. Congratulations Max!

To read the story go here.

Featured Alumni

  • Ashley Mick.jpg

    Ashley Boyd Diette

    College Leaders Program

    Class of 2004

    Ashley is government teacher at Hampton Roads Academy and a former director of alumni development at Christopher Newport University. She previously served in both Governor Mark Warner's and Governor Tim Kaine's administrations. She also serves on the Sorensen Institute's Hampton Roads Regional Advisory Board.