Campaigns and Elections

Election 2009 Results
Nov 3 2009 - 10:23am


Based on the still un-official results from yesterday's election here in Virginia, the Sorensen Institute is  proud to report that we had 27 Sorensen graduates win office (of the 49 running). We are looking at the potential for a pending canvass and possibly even a recount in two House of Delegates races involving alumni (see below), but for now, it looks like we have 27 alumni victories in election 2009!

* 27 Sorensen alumni won office on November 3, 2009: 10 Republicans, 14 Democrats, and 3 Independents.

* We are looking at 5 new Sorensen graduates elected to the Virginia General Assembly— four of whom are alumni of this year's Candidate Training Program!

* A total of 23 Sorensen graduates have now been elected to the Virginia General Assembly over time. Assuming the potential recounts don't change any results, 18 Sorensen graduates would serve in the GA once their terms begin in January 2010.

According to the un-official results from the Virginia State Board of Elections, Sorensen alumni who won office in yesterday's election are:

Robin Abbott (CTP Spring 2009, D): House of Delegates, 93rd

Kenny Alexander (PLP 2002, D): House of Delegates, 89th

Richard Anderson (CTP Winter 2009, R): House of Delegates, 51st

Priscilla S. Bele (CTP 2007, D): Commissioner of Revenue, Newport News City

Connie Brennan (PLP 2005, D): Board of Supervisors, Nelson County, Central District

James Brown (CTP Spring 2009, D): Sheriff, City of Charlottesville

David L. Bulova (PLP 1997, D): House of Delegates, 37th

Steve Clinton (PLP 2000, R): Board of Supervisors, Botetourt County

John A. Cosgrove (PLP 1998, R): House of Delegates, 78th

Adam P. Ebbin
(PLP 2000, D): House of Delegates, 49th

Scott Garrett (CTP 2006, R): House of Delegates, 23rd

Tag Greason (CTP Winter 2009, R): House of Delegates, 32nd

Charniele L. Herring
(PLP 2006; CTP 2008, D): House of Delegates, 46th

James O. Icenhour
(CTP 2005, D): Board of Supervisors, James City County, Powhatan District

Kaye Kory
(CTP Winter 2009, D): House of Delegates, 38th

Lynwood W. Lewis
(PLP 1995; CTP 1999; D): House of Delegates, 100th

Daniel W. Marshall (CTP 2001, R): House of Delegates, 14th

Jennifer L. McClellan (PLP 2001; CTP 2005, D): House of Delegates, 71st

Michael Mondul (Danville 2004, I): Sheriff, City of Danville

Joy Moore (CTP 2005, I): Treasurer, City of Colonial Heights

Gabe Morgan (CTP 2005, R): Sheriff, City of Newport News

Dave Norris (CTP 2006, D): City Council, City of Charlottesville

David A. Nutter (CTP 2001, R): House of Delegates, 7th

Christopher Peace
(PLP 2004, R): House of Delegates, 97th

Mark D. Sickles
(PLP 1998, CTP 2001, D): House of Delegates, 43rd

Eric J. Strucko
(PLP 1999, I): School Board Member, Albemarle County, Samuel Miller District

Rodney S. Thomas (PLP 1999, R): Board of Supervisors, Albemarle County, Rio District

*This list does not include Sornensen alumni Bobby Mathieson and Margie Vanderhye, who may seek a canvass or recount in each of their House of Delegates races, depending on the certified vote returns. 

The Sorensen Institute extends its thanks and congratulations to everyone who had the courage and conviction to stand for office, as well as all of our alumni who worked long hours for many months on a number of campaigns across Virginia. Democracy in Virginia is stronger because of you!

PODCAST: Gibson on WMRA to Discuss Governor's Race
Oct 20 2009 - 9:19am

Sorensen's Bob Gibson was one of a handful of Virginia journalists who appeared on WMRA's Virginia Insight program yesterday to discuss the governor's race. Click here for the podcast.

Hurt Talks About his Candidacy for Congress
Oct 13 2009 - 10:40am

Robert Hurt (PLP 2000) was a guest on Charlottesville radio yesterday afternoon to discuss his recently announced candidacy for the Republican nomination for U.S. Congress to run against incumbent Tom Perriello in the November 2010 election. Click here for the podcast.

DeViney Hosts McDonnell in Cville
Oct 6 2009 - 1:32pm

Mary Loose Deviney (PLP 05) met with Bob McDonnell recently at her jewelry store in downtown Charlottesville to discuss the economy and small businesses in Virginia. The Daily Progress has the story.

Areizaga Joins Deeds Campaign
Aug 25 2009 - 9:31am


Jaime Areizaga (PLP 09) has been appointed as the Principal Advisor for Latino Affairs to Virginia Senator Creigh Deeds in his campaign for governor. His role includes coordinating reach out, policy, communications, voter registration and voter turnout.

PODCAST: 8.10.09, Q&A Part 2
Aug 12 2009 - 9:43am

In this second and final part of the podcast of the Q&A with Bob McDonnell from the Monday evening program in Danville, audience members asked about landfills and recycling, the state budget, biofuels and energy, off-shore drilling, and crime.

PODCAST: 8.10.09, Bob McDonnell
Aug 11 2009 - 10:42pm



Republican nominee for governor of Virginia Bob McDonnell began the program on Monday evening in Danville with these remarks about his vision for the future of the Commonwealth. This podcast lasts about 20 minutes.

Three Sorensen Grads Win in Alexandria
May 6 2009 - 9:43am

Two graduates of the Candidate Training Program Class of Winter 2009 have won election to the Alexandria City Council. Frank Fannon and Alicia Hughes were elected to the Council yesterday.

Paul Smedberg (PLP 2001) was also re-elected to the Council in the same election.

Click here for coverage of the story in the Washington Post.

PODCAST: Democratic Candidates Forum in Danville, April 28
Apr 29 2009 - 5:30pm

The Sorensen Institute and the Danville Register & Bee hosted an Issues Forum last night in Danville with the three candidates vying for the Democratic nomination for Governor: Brian Moran, Creigh Deeds, and Terry McAuliffe. The event was moderated by Sorensen's Bob Gibson and former Danville Mayor Linwood Wright. This podcast includes the complete audio of the forum, which ran from 7-9pm. You can read some of the news coverage of the forum here and here.

FROM THE ARCHIVE: Gov. Holton's Campaign Commercials
Mar 15 2009 - 10:07pm

In just a few days, the Sorensen Institute will celebrate its 2009 Gala in Arlington. From the Newsroom Archive comes this historic video from our 2007 Gala in Richmond, at which we were very proud to honor Governor Linwood Holton.

As part of the evening's program, we shared Governor Holton's 1969 campaign commercials. These commercials had been preserved on 16mm film and were brought to our attention shortly before the Gala (many thanks to Michael Belefski). We had just enough time to get them digitized and edited together for the special event. These now historic commercials were shown publicly at Sorensen's 2007 Gala for the first time in almost 40 years.

Holton won the election that year, beating Democratic candidate William C. Battle. Governor Holton served from 1970 to 74, the first Republican in Virginia in the 20th century to hold that high office. You can also click here to watch a video of Holton's remarks from that memorable evening.


Featured Alumni

  • Ashley Mick.jpg

    Ashley Boyd Diette

    College Leaders Program

    Class of 2004

    Ashley is government teacher at Hampton Roads Academy and a former director of alumni development at Christopher Newport University. She previously served in both Governor Mark Warner's and Governor Tim Kaine's administrations. She also serves on the Sorensen Institute's Hampton Roads Regional Advisory Board.