Sorensen Announces Gala 2010: April 19 in Richmond
Dec 16 2009 - 11:23pm


Mark Your Calendars Now!

BREAKING: The Sorensen Institute is proud to announce that we have confirmed plans for our Spring 2010 Gala.

The Sorensen Gala will be held on Monday evening, April 19 at the Richmond Convention Center. This event will honor the new administration of Governor-elect McDonnell.

Confirmed speakers for this historic event will include the new Governor Bob McDonnell, Lieutenant Governor Bill Bolling, and Attorney General-elect Ken Cuccinelli.

Bob Gibson is the Executive Director of the Sorensen Institute. "We are delighted that all three recently elected statewide officials will be able to join us for this event," Gibson said. "This will definitely be a night to remember."

The Sorensen Gala has fast become one of the most popular, "must-attend" events for anyone working in Virginia politics. The 2008 Gala at which we honored retiring U.S. Senator John Warner was broadcast in its entirety on C-Span.  Click here for more video, podcasts and photos from previous Sorensen Galas.

The Sorensen Gala is the Institute's primary fundraising activity and is held each spring. We are expecting a record turn-out for the April 19, 2010 gala, so if you would like more information about sponsoring a table or purchasing advance tickets to ensure you have a seat, please contact Colleen Smith.

2009 Gala Sponsors
Mar 30 2009 - 10:40pm

The Sorensen Institute would like to thank the supporters of our 2009 Gala. Your investment in good government in Virginia is tremendously appreciated and will go to support Sorensen programs that identify, educate, and inspire the Commonwealth's future political leaders. You helped us to raise $211,000 this year to support the Sorensen mission. Thank you all so much.

2009 Gala Was a Great Success
Mar 30 2009 - 10:23pm

The Sorensen Institute celebrated its 2009 Gala on the evening of March 20 at the Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City in Arlington. Nearly 250 alumni, board members, and friends of Sorensen turned out to support our mission to improve political leadership and government throughout the Commonwealth. Thanks to their generous investment, we raised $211,000 to support this effort. (photo at right: Democratic candidates for Governor Creigh Deeds and Terry McAuliffe)
     At this memorable event we were proud to honor each of the thirteen members of the Virginia delegation now serving in the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives in Washington: Senator Jim Webb, Senator Mark Warner, and Congressmen Robb Wittman, Glenn Nye, Bobby Scott, Randy Forbes, Tom Perriello, Bob Goodlatte, Eric Cantor, Jim Moran, Rick Boucher, Frank Wolf, and Gerry Connolly.
     Speakers at the 2009 Gala included Sharon Bulova, Chairman of the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors; Vivek Kundra, a graduate of the Political Leaders Program Class of 2007 and the nation’s Chief Information Officer having recently been appointed by President Obama; Sean Connaughton, a graduate of the Political Leaders Program Class of 1995, the Corporate Vice President for the American Bureau of Shipping and recently the U.S. Maritime Administrator; and former Congressman Tom Davis, who represented Virginia’s 11th Congressional District for seven terms. Our thanks to everyone who helped to make this an unforgettable evening. (photo: Bob Gibson, former Lieutenant Governor John Hager, and U.S. Congressman Rob Wittman)

Click here to download a PDF copy of the 2009 Gala program.

Sorensen Celebrates 2009 Gala Tonight in NoVA
Mar 20 2009 - 9:57am

Tonight in northern Virginia the alumni and friends of the Sorensen Institute for Political Leadership will gather to celebrate the 2009 Gala. The black-tie event will honor every member of the Virginia delegation now serving in Washington. Look for audio and photos of the Gala here in the Newsroom next week!

FROM THE ARCHIVE: Gov. Holton's Campaign Commercials
Mar 15 2009 - 10:07pm

In just a few days, the Sorensen Institute will celebrate its 2009 Gala in Arlington. From the Newsroom Archive comes this historic video from our 2007 Gala in Richmond, at which we were very proud to honor Governor Linwood Holton.

As part of the evening's program, we shared Governor Holton's 1969 campaign commercials. These commercials had been preserved on 16mm film and were brought to our attention shortly before the Gala (many thanks to Michael Belefski). We had just enough time to get them digitized and edited together for the special event. These now historic commercials were shown publicly at Sorensen's 2007 Gala for the first time in almost 40 years.

Holton won the election that year, beating Democratic candidate William C. Battle. Governor Holton served from 1970 to 74, the first Republican in Virginia in the 20th century to hold that high office. You can also click here to watch a video of Holton's remarks from that memorable evening.


Sorensen Announces 2009 Gala: March 20
Jan 21 2009 - 1:56pm

The Sorensen Institute will host its annual spring Gala celebration on Friday evening, March 20 at the Ritz-Carlton, Pentagon City in Arlington. The 2009 Gala will honor the entire Virginia delegation now serving in Washington.

This year our alumni will continue to enjoy a 50% discount on Gala tickets- and that discount will extend to one guest as well.

To learn how you or your organization can sponsor this event, please contact Colleen Smith.

Click here to visit the 2009 Gala website.

Click here to see a slideshow of last year's Gala, which honored U.S. Senator John Warner.

2008: The Year in Pictures
Dec 16 2008 - 3:12pm
please install flash

This has been an unforgettable year for the Sorensen Institute—the 15th anniversary of our founding. We hope you enjoy this collection of photos from throughout this special year. (Press the arrow to play the slideshow and click here to see a larger version of the photos)

Gala 2008: Program
May 22 2008 - 11:39am


The program from our 2008 Gala is now available online.

Click the cover at right to download a pdf copy of the program.

C-SPAN Coverage of Sorensen Gala Now Online
May 16 2008 - 12:20pm


C-SPAN's coverage of the Sorensen Institute's 2008 Gala celebration at which we honored U.S. Senator John Warner is now available for viewing online.

Click here to visit the C-SPAN site and watch the Sorensen Gala. You can also purchase DVD copies of the Gala coverage directly from C-SPAN.

Gala 2008: Slideshow
May 14 2008 - 6:07am

 Here are some photos from the Sorensen Institute's 2008 Gala which was held on April 25 in Northern Virginia. The event was a great success, and we want to thank everyone who helped to make this memorable evening possible.