PLP Alumni News

Lambert Announced as Veterans Committee Chair for NCBW
Oct 13 2014 - 10:34am

Tammi Lambert (PLP 2012) was formally announced as the National Chair for the National Congress of Black Women’s new Veterans Committee.  The NCBW is dedicated to the educational, political, and cultural development of African American women and youth.  Currectly, NCBW trains women for leadership and decision-making positions in government, nonprofit organizations, and the private sector.  The position is a new community partnership between the NCBW and Women Veterans ROCK, which works to engage and empower women veterans to excel in post-military life.

Congratulations, Tammi!

Chenery joins Secretariat of Agriculture
Sep 22 2014 - 11:30am

Gov. McAuliffe announced additional appointments to his administration on Friday including Carrie Hileman Chenery (PLP 2013), the new Assistant Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry. Carrie most recently served as the Manager of Legislation & Policy for the Virginia Economic Development Partnership.

Three other Sorensen alumni were also among the administration appointments announced Friday.

Board for Contractors
Vance T. Ayres of King George, National Coordinator, EIWPF; PLP 2007, CTP 2008

Legislative Advisory Council to the Southern Regional Education Board
Hon. David L. Bulova of Fairfax, Member, Virginia House of Delegates; PLP 1997
Hon. Jennifer L. McClellan of Richmond, Member, Virginia House of Delegates; PLP 2001, CTP 2005

Chimaladinne Recieves Appointment to ITAC
Sep 22 2014 - 11:27am

Anjan Chimaladinne (PLP 2012) has been appointed by Governor McAuliffe to the Information Technology Advisory Council.  The ITAC is responsible for advising the CIO and the Secretary of Technology on the planning, budgeting, acquiring, using, disposing, managing, and administering of information technology and appointing a health information technology standards advisory committee in the Commonwealth.

Congratulations, Anjan!

McAuliffe appoints Sorensen alumni
Aug 16 2014 - 5:12pm

Sorensen alumni were among the individuals that Governor McAuliffe appointed to Virginia's boards and commissions this summer. Congratulations to them all!

Advisory Board on Respiratory Care
Hollee Freeman (PLP 2014)

Board for Professional and Occupational Regulation 
Shelly Simonds (CTP 2012)

Council on Aging
Shewling Moy Wong (CTP 2005)

Family and Children’s Trust Fund, Board of Trustees
Andria McClellan (PLP 2013)

Governor’s Advisory Council on Revenue Estimates
Jody Wagner (PLP Fall 1994)

Governor’s Commemorative Commission Honoring the Contributions of the Women of Virginia
Krysta Jones (PLP 2006)

Tobacco Indemnification and Community Revitalization Commission
Missy Neff Gould (PLP 2006)

Secure Commonwealth Panel
Mike Hamlar (CTP Winter 2010)

Southwest Virginia Higher Education Center, Board of Trustees
Steve Cochran (PLP 2009)

The Library Board
David Skiles (PLP 2014)

Virginia-Asian Advisory Board
Julia Kim (ELP 2012)

Virginia Aviation Board 
Dak Hardwick (PLP 2011)

Virginia Board for People with Disabilities
Atima Omara (PLP 2010)

Virginia-Israel Advisory Board
Will Frank (PLP 2008)

Virginia Latino Advisory Board
Carolina Espinal (PLP 2009)
Gloria Rockhold (PLP 2010)

Virginia Military Advisory Council
Terron Sims, II (PLP 2007)

Virginia Museum of Natural History Board of Trustees
Christine Baggerly (Danville 2004)

Trumbo selected for Bridgewater Hall of Fame
Aug 16 2014 - 2:27pm

Bo Trumbo (PLP 2009) will be inducted into Bridgewater College's Athletic Hall of Fame on Oct. 31. He will also be recognized along with four other inductees at halftime of the Nov. 1 football game when Bridgewater hosts Hampden-Sydney College.

As Bridgewater College reports, "Trumbo was a standout pitcher for the Bridgewater College baseball program and several of his pitching records have stood the test of time for nearly four decades."

"I am honored by this recognition," said Bo, "And I would like my Sorensen family to celebrate with me."

McAuliffe appoints Fried, Britt and Hutchinson
Jun 3 2014 - 2:07pm

Gov. Terry McAuliffe has appointed Barbara Fried of Crozet and Dr. L.D. Britt of Suffolk to the University of Virginia Board of Visitors. Fried is former chair of the Sorensen Statewide Advisory Board. Britt (PLP Spring '94), was in the first Political Leaders Program class with Emily Couric. The governor also appointed Lucy Hutchinson (CLP 2005) to the James Madison University Board of Visitors. Hutchinson, of Falls Church, is a senior manager for executive and commercial recruiting of Capital One.

Block to direct Va. Juvenile Justice
Apr 11 2014 - 2:50pm

Gov. McAuliffe has named  Andy Block (PLP 2006) director of the Virginia Department of Juvenile Justice.

Andy currently serves as a law professor at U.Va. and directs the Child Advocacy Clinic, an organization that trains law students to represent low-income children involved with the juvenile justice system.

Full details at UVA Law.


Gould running for Danville School Board
Mar 6 2014 - 2:29pm

Steven Gould (PLP 2006) is running for one of three at-large School Board seats for Danville City Schools. The election is May 6.

More at his campaign website:

Vanderhye appointed to arts commission
Mar 4 2014 - 12:13pm

On Feb. 28, Gov. McAuliffe announced he has appointed Margi Vanderhye (CTP 2005, PLP 2006, Sorensen State Advisory Board) to serve as Executive Director of the Virginia Commission for the Arts.

Margi served in the Virginia House of Delegates from 2008 to 2010 representing the 34th district (McLean, Great Falls, and parts of Herndon and Vienna). She served for six years as a Presidential appointee to the National Capital Planning Commission during the Clinton administration. Margi chaired the Commission’s Joint Memorials and Museums Task Force which developed a nationally award winning master plan for monuments, memorials, and museums.

Margi currently serves as Vice Chair of the McLean Project for the Arts promoting the important connection between a vibrant arts curriculum and workforce preparedness. She served in the 1990’s as an appointee to the northern Virginia Advisory Panel for the Virginia Commission for the Arts.

Adkins announces for Va. Senate
Feb 28 2014 - 4:08pm

Kim Adkins (PLP 2007) has announced her candidacy for Virginia Senate. She will be running against Sen. Bill Stanley (R-Glade Hill) to represent the 20th District. Visit the Martinsville Bulletin for more.