PLP Alumni News

Bates Makes Tenure
Apr 11 2007 - 2:15pm

Congratulations to Dr. Brian Bates, a member of the Political Leaders Program Class of 2007. An archaeologist at Longwood University, Brian recently earned tenure and was promoted to Associate Professor of Anthropology. As anyone with ties to the university world knows, this is not an easy thing to do, demanding many years of study and accomplishment.

Besides his research and teaching requirements at Longwood, Brian is a member of the Buckingham County Board of Supervisors, where he currently serves as Vice-Chairman.

Way to go Brian!

Oschrin Receives Honor
Mar 30 2007 - 12:00pm

Congratulations to Natalie Oschrin of Charlottesville, a graduate of the Sorensen Institute's High School Leaders Program Class of 2006.

Natalie has been honored as the 2007 recipient of the $1,000 Leadership Scholarship by the Emily Couric Leadership Forum.

Emily Couric was a two-term Virginia State Senator and a candidate for Lieutenant Governor. She succumbed to pancreatic cancer on October 18, 2001. Emily was among the first class of graduates from Sorensen's Political Leaders Program in the Spring of 1994.

PLP Alum Announces for HOD
Mar 29 2007 - 9:14am

Jackie Jackson, a graduate of the Political Leaders Program Class of 2002, has announced her candidacy for the Virginia House of Delegates, District 74.

Click here to read an article in today's Richmond Times Dispatch about her candidacy

Click here to visit Jackie's website. Good luck, Jackie!

Don McEachin has held that seat in the 74th since January of 2006, but he recently announced that he would seek the Democratic nomination for the 9th Senate District instead. McEachin will go up against incumbent Benny Lambert in the primary.

McEachin recently criticized Lambert for endorsing George Allen in the recent U.S. Senate race.

Sorensen Alum to Seek Senate Seat
Mar 28 2007 - 12:00pm

Delegate Robert Hurt of Chatham, a graduate of the Political Leaders Program Class of 2000, has announced his intent to run for the 19th District Senate seat this year. The seat has been held by Charles Hawkins since 1992. Hawkins recently announced that he would not seek reelection.

Click here to read an article in today's Roanoke Times about Hurt's announcement.

Sorensen Grads at "Running to Win"
Mar 27 2007 - 3:00pm

A number of Sorensen alumni and students were in attendance at the "Running to Win" candidate training seminar in Norfolk this past weekend.
Sponsored by the Virginia chapter of NOW, the League of Women Voters of
Virginia, and the National Women's Political Caucus of Virginia, the
program teaches women and their advisors how to run effective campaigns
for public office.

Some of the Sorensen folks at the seminar included (from left to right): Sharon Jadrnak (PLP 06, CTP 07), Jeanette Rishell (CTP 06), Bryan Collins ( PLP 06, CTP 06), Tarina Keene, program co-organizer (PLP 06), and Jennifer Little (PLP 07).

Sandra Brandt (PLP 94) was one of the program organizers as well. Also in attendance were Georgia Allen (CTP 05) and Charniele Herring (PLP 06). Speakers included Vickie Williams (PLP 05) and Dan Cawley (PLP 98).

THIS JUST IN: Herring Announces New Plans in Alexandria
Mar 13 2007 - 12:00pm

THIS JUST IN: Charniele Herring, a graduate of the Political Leaders Program Class of 2006, has informed us that she will be leaving her current position at Leftwich & Ludaway at the end of this month to open her own practice and company in Alexandria. Good luck, Charniele!

Charniele was also interviewed recently on Washington Post Radio regarding the Annual Salute to Women Awards Banquet coming up on March 26. This program is sponsored by the City of Alexandria's Commission for Women, for which Charniele serves as Chair.

Brennan Announces in the 59th
Mar 12 2007 - 1:16pm

It's official. Connie Brennan, a graduate of the Political Leaders Program Class of 2005 and a member of the Nelson County Board of Supervisors, announced today that she is a 59th District candidate for the Virginia House of Delegates. Connie will go up against incumbent Watkins Abbitt, who was first elected to the House in 1986. The 59th District sprawls across Virginia's midsection and includes all of Appomattox, Buckingham, and Cumberland counties, as well as parts of Albemarle, Fluvanna, Nelson, and Prince Edward counties.

"It has become clear to me over the years," Connie writes on her campaign website, "that there is fairly often a disconnect between what happens in
Richmond and what is happening here in our community. All of our lives are affected by state
legislation, and we need leaders with experience in local government to keep an eye on issues that
concern us here at home. Virginia is changing rapidly, and protecting our rural heritage will be an
ever-increasing challenge."

Connie announces her candidacy at a series of stops across the district beginning today and continuing through Wednesday.

UPDATE: Click here to read news coverage of the announcement.

PODCAST: Delegate Jennifer McClellan
Mar 6 2007 - 8:09pm

Delegate and Sorensen State Board member Jennifer McClellan (PLP 2001, CTP 2005) joined Coy Barefoot this afternoon on "Charlottesville—Right Now!" to recap this year's General Assembly session. She candidly shares her reaction to the transportation plan passed by the Assembly and currently being reviewed by Governor Kaine.


Alumna Jensen Honored by Virginia General Assembly
Feb 28 2007 - 10:00am

Last week the General Assembly honored Virginia's out-going Secretary of the State Board of Elections, Jean Jensen (Political Leaders Program Class of 1996), with a special commendation.

The commendation was sponsored by Delegate John Cosgrove (Political Leaders Program Class of 1998) and co-sponsored by all the members of the Privileges and Elections Committee. It was passed by both the Senate and House.

Click here to read the full text of the resolution honoring Jean Jensen.

At our annual Alumni Reunion in Richmond last year, the Sorensen Institute honored Jean with its first-ever Expression of Ideals Award, given to a Sorensen graduate who best represents the ideals at the heart of the
Sorensen mission: a spirit of ethics,
bipartisanship, and civic engagement.

PODCAST: Kenney and Ferguson 2.26.07
Feb 27 2007 - 10:40am

Shaun Kenney and Jesse Ferguson joined Coy Barefoot yesterday on "Charlottesville—Right Now!" to recap this year's General Assembly session. Shaun is the Director of Communications for the Republican Party of Virginia. Jesse is the spokesman for Delegate Brian Moran, (Chairman of the Democratic Caucus) and is a graduate of the Political Leaders Program Class of 2004.

Topics included the transportation package, the slavery regret bill,
re-regulation of Dominion Virginia Power, the success of eminent domain
legislation, and the failure of legislation to raise the minimum wage.
Shaun and Jesse also share their thoughts on what we might expect from their party’s
candidates in this year’s elections.